Intro to blogging world with My Migraine Life

So here it is, my first blog entry.   I’m totally intimidated by it and have never really been an “open book” so this will be a challenge for me.  Why start a blog then?  If you would have told me I would have had a blog this time last year, I would have laughed at you.  But a lot can change in a year. At the end of last summer, I started journaling about my life with migraines.  I have had them since I was 5 and had just turned 32.  They have sculpted every aspect of my life along with every relationship I have.  As I wrote story after story of memories I started looking into my disease a bit.  I joined support groups, read books and articles and did some research on the many medications that I had taken over the years.  This exploration into the migraine world started a whole new chapter for me. I have had this invisible disease for more than 25 years and yet I found that I knew little about it.   I also found most people know little about a cure (because there isn’t one) even though it has been documented to be around since the beginning of time.  I found solace in others and discovered that I was not alone, not crazy, and have bonded with people in the migraine world.
I am a mother first and foremost.  Being a stay at home mom of 2 is not easy and being a migraine sufferer to boot seems nearly impossible at times.  I  want to start understanding this crazy disease better, in turn, learning about myself.  I want to understand not only to change my future, but to change my children’s.  I live every day in fear that I have passed this awful life changing monster onto my babies.  Maybe if I can get some clues on how to help myself I can help my children.  They motivate me every day!
I have battled in my cold dark room for so many years that I am now ready to make a bit of noise about this disease.  Hypothetical noise of course, loud sounds are a trigger for me.  So if I can help spread the word that your mom, sister, friend, co worker and you are not making up these migraines, I’ll do it.  If I can teach someone one thing that may help in a lifetime of pain.  If I can give hope to someone who feels hopeless on what feels like a  hamster wheel that we live on.  If I can be inspired or learn something new.  If I can bring others together then I’ll challenge myself to be more open.
My hope in starting this blog will be to help grow the migraine community.  From what I have been a part of, it is a smart, passionate group that just needs help.  Needs answers, needs support, needs hope, needs awareness and needs inspiration.  Most of all, no judgment.  I want it to be a place that not only migraine suffers can come, but a place that people who are in a relationship with sufferers can come to understand better.  I want this blog to help spread the word about Migraines.  As sufferers, we desperately grasp at straws to just allow us to live life vertically.  Everyone has their own path and I’m hoping to connect, support, and be part of a community that helps guide each of us down our own to wellness.

2 thoughts on “Intro to blogging world with My Migraine Life

  1. Pingback: Other Lives #2: My Migraine Life | An Unfiltered Monologue

  2. Reblogged this on My Migraine Life and commented:

    Today is the second anniversary of starting my blog! I have spent it going to workout, leaving quickly to be sick and sleeping. So when I saw the anniversary notification, I realized I haven’t gotten too far in finding solutions for my problems. What I have found is support, raised money and awareness, and made virtual friends I have not met but find I can lean on in a way many wouldn’t understand. I have found great products that help my quality of life and feel like I’m doing something good for others. I physically have not improved but mentally am in a stronger and more confident place with my disease.
    So thank you to all my readers!!!!! You have commented, emailed, liked, shared, and given great support. You have related and given advice. You have made me proud of my writing and made me determined to make things better for us all. Thank you thank you thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

