Phases of a Migraine life

My Migraine Life functions in a cycle of pain phases.  Sometimes it repeats more quickly than others.  Before last weekend I had been optimistic about trying to control my migraines.  I felt like I was making a difference to help prevent attacks.  Then, one hit to bring me out of that.    Last weekend I functioned at about a 5-7 pain level throughout.  Friday night was actually like an 8  but it ranged.  By day 4 I was sitting on the floor crying.  I was crying because I didn’t know when it would lessen, if it would get worse and at what pain level I would be functioning.  Being in pain for extended amounts of time is really wearing.  So I continued the rest of the week in my after migraine phase.  I’m extra careful and a bit weary of it returning so I always tread carefully.  So now I look towards this weekend in this live life to the fullest phase.  There will be cocktails, picnics, and summer fun.  Lot of triggers but lots of good times.  I’m super optimistic and excited again.  The cycle continues.

Someone asked me why more migraine sufferers don’t speak out.  Well it’s not that easy.  When I feel good I’m out and about with my family enjoying life to its fullest.  It’s my” happy to be alive” phase and I LOVE it.   Seeing life from different angles makes me really cherish life in a different way than, I think, if I didn’t suffer.  Then when I’m down, I’m down.  It’s survival phase.  When I’m in between I am now trying to speak out, but it’s tough.  My perspective changes constantly with my different phases.  Some days I think I’m doing something about these migraines and other times I’m just so sick of thinking about it.  But once again, the cycle continues.

One thought on “Phases of a Migraine life

  1. Just thought I’d share–we shared on our FB Page (facebook.com/chronicmigraineawareness) and a member replied: Hi, my name is Jared and I as well suffer greatly from chronic migraines it’s horrible and most people do not know about how difficult it makes out lives just to live day to day i find extremely difficult ! Hard to even describe or put into words but what you wrote is IDENTICAL ! Literally to the way I live my life and how I feel day and and day out ! You wrote that perfectly and I couldn’t agree more or even add anything else more to what you said ! You really took the words out of my head and literally put that on here to a T !! Amazing!!! All the best Jared S.

    Like

Leave a Reply

