“A dream you dream alone is only a dream. A dream you dream together is reality.” John Lennon

John Lennon was quoted to say, “A dream you dream alone is only a dream.  A dream you dream together is reality.”

I love this statement, yet it should have the disclaimer….with a lot of hard work.  Besides hitting the lottery, I can’t think of any dream that can be achieved without hard work and usually needs some sort of luck.  If it was easy to obtain it wouldn’t be a dream.  So let’s talk about my personal dreams for Migraine:

To find a cure!  To be cured almost seems too farfetched for me, but that’s why I dream!

To find a medication that works.  I have been on countless medications and I have always had side effects from them.  For years and years I didn’t understand the side effect from my medications. I was under the impression that the way I felt was either a  side effect of my migraines or just my weak system.  My migraines have many more symptoms than just head pain and my meds compound the difficulties my body struggles with.  I have found some relief for small amounts of time then I seem to get a resistance, my body changes or for whatever reason it stops working.  I have even gone to the extreme of having migraine surgery and it did not leave me with a cure or without side effects.  Too many meds,  yet when my pain level escalates to above a 7 it seems like there are not enough meds.  I’d just like one that works all the time, every time.

To fund research to accomplish the above dreams.  This is what I’m talking about when I discuss hard work and luck.  It seems like funding just isn’t a priority even with many people working hard to make it one.  I’d like some celebrities and political figures to back this.  That would be lucky….it should be their duty, but it would be lucky.

To stop the stigma and give Migraine the respect and recognition that it deserves.

To increase the support system.  I am fortunate to have a huge circle of love and support but I’m not sure how I would do it alone.  I’ve spoken with many that are battling by themselves and it’s not ok.  With Migraine comes a whole plethora of physical and mental obstacles that need to be addressed as a whole.  There is a great need for support in a world that can seem so misunderstood and isolated.

 

I can go on and on about my dreams and the dreams of the migraine community.  Together we can make it a reality but not without hard work.  Dreams aren’t handed to you so it only makes sense to work together.

Leave a Reply

