OH THE JOYS OF TRAVELING WITH MIGRAINE

I love to travel. I have been lucky enough to travel all around the world and unlucky enough to have migraines in many of those places. I have learned many lessons. Today, I woke up at 5am to embark on a trip to meet my husband for a weekend away without our kids. My first trigger I couldn’t control was sleep. My mother in law and mom are sharing child care for my children for the weekend. My mother in law was kind enough to travel up for the weekend and arrived last night. By the time I got the kids to bed and we chatted a bit I got to bed at about 11:30pm. At 2:00 am my daughter woke up with leg cramps and by the time I comforted her and fell back asleep I got about an hour of sleep. I wasn’t anticipating getting much sleep with the anxiety of leaving my kids for the weekend anyways, so oh well. On the way to the airport I chugged a big bottle of water and took a Sudafed. I never realized how much my sinuses contributed to my head pain until about 3 years ago. I saw an ENT and he told me I had had a sinus infection, from his guess, for months. Since then I have had sinus surgery and tried to be more aware of how congestion triggers my migraines. I grabbed a cup of coffee and boarded the plane. Caffeine helps some people and triggers others. I am one that it helps.  The woman that sat down next to me had apparently taken a bath in perfume before she boarded the plane and brought trigger #2 to me. I put up my wall of defense by putting my hoodie up and over my nose as I politely looked out the window. Hoodies act as my armor. I wear them because they are not only comfy but when the hood is up it helps shield peripheral light and sound. It, combined with my huge sunglasses is practically a uniform for me. I grabbed a glass of water every time the flight attendant walk by. No ice, it grosses me out on airplanes. The perfume lady went to the bathroom twice and each time came back and lotioned her hands with more perfume laced lotion. I didn’t have children to entertain and worry about, I packed healthy non trigger snacks and my stress was low beyond that. At my layover I got lunch and another huge water. It was $5.00 but worth keeping me hydrated. Plus, I saved it to reuse for my trip. (Not that I didn’t already have one packed in my suitcase too.) I had a long layover but by the time I ate lunch, talked to my best friend, texted another, checked on the kids, shopped and walked around a bit, I was ready to board again. This time it was a small plane for a short ride. As we boarded, my stress level began to rise with the increase in temperature. The ground air was not working for the plane and it was what felt like 100 degrees or so. My head immediately filled with throbbing pain. I took off my hoodie, closed my eyes and started calmly taking slow breathes. Staying calm about the rising pain is an important key to keeping in control. When I panic it comes on faster and more intensely. Of course, our plane had to wait in line and we sat in our sweltering seats for about 20 minutes. I was so glad I had drank so much water and praised myself for controlling the triggers that I could knowing there are many I can’t. Not to get too graphic, but as we ascended, the man behind me had gas and forced us to boil in his stench. I actually wished for the perfume lady to come back. Once we got in the air and the smell dissipated it was a quick flight but my head was starting to give way to the building triggers. As I exited the plane I braced myself for the change in weather. As you can imagine the temperature and barometric pressure is a bit different from Cleveland to California. Here came another trigger. I got my luggage and sat outside breathing in the fresh air I needed all day. I then took a pain pill, a deep breath and arrived at the hotel. A success, I made it! Not to say that a migraine wouldn’t be triggered by that night or next day, but my travel was done for the day. Oh the joys of traveling.

So in summary, here are the things I controlled:

Hydration. Water, water, water

Caffeine. Not too much, not to little but just right.

Medicating. I often times wait too long to take meds because I hate taking so many pills. I was proactive in taking my Sudafed and reactive in taking my pain pill.

Stress. I was fortunate to avoid a lot of stressful things that traveling often brings (I got my luggage and my flights arrived as scheduled, yeah!). But when I did feel stressed I meditated and breathed through it

Food.   I chose a burrito with no trigger foods and packed healthy snacks. No Chinese for me with the possibility of msg!

Exercise. I didn’t workout but I made sure to take a few laps around the concourse to get my endorphins slightly raised and blood flowing.

 

Things I couldn’t avoid:

Sleep. I would have liked to but it just didn’t happen

Smell

Temperature

Weather

 

Things I got lucky enough not to encounter:

Lights and noise. No screaming babies, no glaring sun through windows.  I got lucky!

6 thoughts on “OH THE JOYS OF TRAVELING WITH MIGRAINE

  1. You use many of the same tools I use to deal with my chronic pain which includes, but is not limited to migraines. Deep, controlled breathing, exercise, limiting stress wherever possible, watching out for triggers, meditation. One other tool that works for me when the pain begins or even when I’m in a lot of pain is guided imagery. There are many CD’s available that can talk you through or get you started. I can usually deal with it on my own but I’ve had a lot of practice, like meditation,

    Like

  2. Well done you on all of this. Travelling can be a complete nightmare, can’t it and makes one feel like avoiding it altogether. My last job had masses of travel with it and it was a constant worry about how I would be on the road. In fact I tended to be ok while away then save up my migraines to merrily have once I got home, meaning I was in bed weekends instead of spending time with my long-supporting husband. I am interested to hear about the success of your deep breathing techniques – will def give that a try. 🙂

    Like

  3. Sooo relate to travel issues. I’m anticipating an airplane, having to be the sole driver in a very, very long car ride and little sleep next month. ANXIETY RISING!!!

    Like

  4. Pingback: How to travel with a chronic illness | My Migraine Life

  5. Pingback: Tranquility Salt Cave for allergies and stress relief | My Migraine Life

Leave a Reply

