Spreading Migraine Awareness through Children

Please watch this Utube video.

I am so proud of this girl for spreading awareness for Migraines and absolutely heartbroken that she needs to.  You see, I am that little girl.  A different time, a different generation, different pills but the pain is the same.  I had my first migraine attack when I was 5 and I am that 10% that suffered before age 12.  I remain feeling alone while millions of us suffer and so many take care of us.  I have fought the stigma all of my life feeling misunderstood and missing out on more events than I care to recall.  I wake up every day in pain and go to bed in pain.  I can’t remember a time that this wasn’t so.  When Lindsay held up the card that said “some will outgrow it”  I did a silent prayer that she would be one who did so with my eyes shutting to hold back tears. (Crying triggers a migraine and I’m coming off a 5 day binge of pain so I refrained from letting my emotions rush out of me like they wanted.)  I could barely do so when she held up the card that said “many will not.”  I wanted to cry for myself, for the millions like me and for the possibility that if I have passed these monsters onto my children.  Please like her video and share it.  My favorite part of the video is when she holds up her name and gives the most beautiful and innocent smile.   She is in life altering pain and her spirit shines through.  Too many children are in pain and continue to be  for life.

 

Oh yea, and if the background noise bothers you, like it did me, put it on mute.  Her words still speak as loudly!

9 thoughts on “Spreading Migraine Awareness through Children

  1. Thanks for sharing this child’s journey- It helps to understand others’ journeys as they battle Migraines, you’re right I cried, Debbie

    Like

  2. I am so sorry for her pain.I understand it well. I am a chronic migrainer and also have a child with migraines (cyclic vomiting syndrome. I will keep you and her in my prayers. . Thanks for spreading awareness

    Like

  3. Pingback: Spreading Migraine Awareness through Children – mybeautifulmigraine

Leave a Reply

