Juice Cleanse and Migraine

 

IMG_2089

Disclosure: “I have been given Garden of Flavor as part of a product review. Although the product was a gift, all opinions in this review remain my own and I was in no way influenced by the company.“

There is something to be said for a food/beverage company that cares about its customers.  Lisa Marie from Garden of Flavor took the time out of her day to really get to know me and I could tell immediately that she didn’t just have a juice company, she had a brand that prides itself on quality.  She seemed to be excited that she is helping people.  Drinking a product that has love behind it seemed as delicious as her cold-pressed juices.

My  eating habits are not great.  I eat a lot of sugar and have always struggled with following rules with diets.  I eat healthy and workout but I just love sweets.  So a juice cleanse was a way to look at my relationship with food and test my brain’s reaction.  I was provided a 3 day juice cleanse.  The day I got them was like Christmas came early.  There is always something to be said about mentality when in chronic pain and seeing all her colorful juices turned my frown upside down, so to speak.

 

Each day I drank:

  1. Goji Pineapple- Yum! The ginger gives it a zing (Organic Pineapple, Organic Goji Berries, Organic Apple, Organic Ginger, Organic Mint, Organic Lemon)

2.Cucumber Fresh- The taste grew on me but not my initial favorite (Organic Cucumber, Organic Celery, Organic Parsley, Organic Lemon)

3.Mean Grean- The first day I found it tough to get down.  By the third day, I kind of liked it (Organic Celery, Organic Cucumber, Organic Kale, Organic Spinach, Organic Romaine, Organic Lemon)

4.Twisted Root- A needed change.  I don’t have beets in my normal diet so drinking them was nice (Organic Carrot, Organic Beet, Organic Lemon)

5.White Knight- Like it’s name it came sweeping in at a low part of my day and tasted like a meal when I drank it. (Purified Water, Organic Cashew Nuts, Organic Agave Nectar, Organic Vanilla Bean, Organic Cinnamon)

6.Tumeric Tonic- Possibly my favorite.   The ginger and cayenne pepper give it such an interesting taste.  A great way to finish the day (Purified Water, Organic Lemon, Organic Blue Agave, Organic Turmeric Root, Organic Ginger Root, Organic Mint, Organic Cayenne Pepper and Over One Billion Deliverable Probiotic Cultures)

The beginning and ending of everyday were my favorite juices.  I found this especially poignant being those are the most painful times of the day for me.  I know, for some, juices may contain triggers for migraine sufferers. (Citrus seems to be one for many.)  But the great thing is, with Lisa’s juices what you see on the labels is what you get.  With other juices I have drank, there was a list of ingredients that didn’t seem like “food” to me.  Those secret words are triggers that I don’t even know how to pronounce.  I ate soup for an entire school year that had MSG in it under another name and MSG is a huge trigger for me.  So drinking real life fruits and vegetables gave me great piece of mind.  I have to say, I felt great (pain level 2-4) for the 3 days.  I will preface this by saying that I received Botox and a steroid pack a week prior.  With that said, Botox is hit or miss as a preventative for me (but I do it because it has the longest positive outcome) and steroids make me feel horrible.  So the lower pain days can definitely be attributed to them finally kicking in and then in combination with the juices, I felt added health.  I didn’t find it difficult for my  lifestyle.  I was a bit hungry at nights but that is when I typically eat a lot and I took this as a sign of retraining my body and mind.  I constantly was drinking  and fueling my body which kept me balanced. My pain levels didn’t seem to spike as much throughout the day.   I was totally unsure if I’d get a migraine but I didn’t.  On the morning after I was done, I was lighter physically and mentally and sad that I didn’t have a Goji Pineapple to reach for in the fridge.

One thought on “Juice Cleanse and Migraine

  1. Pingback: Things I love! | My Migraine Life

Leave a Reply

