Helping others have hope with Migraine

d5da85ad96b74030294576018bacf683

What do you do or say to help others have hope?

Over the years I have had hundreds if not thousands of pieces of advice about my Migraines.  Most of the time it is well intended but wildly misunderstood.  Just do this, why can’t you do that, all you need is…  Well thank you, but that’s not going to cure me.  So when I’m talking to sufferers, such as myself, I do more listening than talking.  If they want to talk, I listen and try to be there.   As a woman, I like to talk things out and I don’t need an answer because there isn’t one.  I would love a solution, but just a simple, “I’m sorry” or “how can I help?”  means a lot.

I started my blog as a way to talk out my feelings and to give hope and support to others.  When I see someone comment on how they are feeling, I like to pass my post along to them to say, “I’m here, I understand and you are not alone.”  I felt alone for many years with my condition and telling someone that I experience and feel the same way hopefully gives hope.  I don’t always comment and feel that sharing my experience is more powerful by saying, “I have felt that way too, have hope you are not alone.”  Being misunderstood is difficult and giving hope that someone else understands has been powerful to me and I hope to pass that power onto others in need.

“The Migraine and Headache Awareness Month Blog Challenge is organized by the American Headache and Migraine Association.”

Leave a Reply

