Ice vs Heat when treating a migraine 

This weekend I celebrated Christmas with my in laws. My husband gave me a heated neck wrap. As I look back at what I wrote last year, I see that not much has changed. I still use both (check out my “things I love page to see my favorite ice). What do you prefer? Heat or ice?

My Migraine Life

Icing and heating are common practices in treating Migraine but what method is best?  Well, like everything else, we are all different and I use both at different times for different reasons.  When I was pregnant there was not a time in my first trimester that I was not doing one or the other.  I wasn’t able to take medication so this gave me relief or at least piece of mind that I was doing something.  When push comes to shove, ice is really the best for me when a migraine is escalating or I’m hit with it.  When I am at a 10, I don’t just put on ice eyes, I make a complete ice helmet to freeze my brain from screaming.  I use two massive ice packs that my husband received from knee surgery, which covers my entire head.  I then lay on a large pack to freeze…

View original post 295 more words

Leave a Reply

