Cravings with Migraine and triggers. Chocolate, salty foods, sugar and more

bad habit and craving

bad habit and craving

Sugar!

Sugar!

I have a lot of good habits that I follow every day  to address my migraines.  If I ignore the things I do to prevent them, I would probably be bedridden permanently.  So the list goes on and changes constantly but I’m diligent and try really hard.  With all the good things I do there is one bad habit that I CAN NOT break.  It is my addiction to sugar.  I’ve read how bad it is, I know how fat it makes me but I just don’t care.  Anyone who knows me, knows this about me.  My father in law has bought me shirts that say, “I’m embarrassed at what I did for a Klondike bar” and “I run because I really, really, like dessert.”   He’s also gotten me “Mama needs a cocktail.”  All of the above are migraine triggers but we all need to pick and choose our battles, right?   It’s the truth.  Although I can’t run much anymore due to my migraines, I work out, partly, because I know my day will end with massive amounts of sugar.  I know for a fact that M&Ms  give me migraines.  It does not stop me.  I have a problem.  I actually have had more than one passionate conversation about how much I love M&Ms, the different types, and how a diet coke with them is like euphoria for me.  I literally look forward to each holiday so I can have the seasonal types.  I actually heard on the radio that M&Ms are the second most addictive food.  I don’t remember what the first one was because they had me at M&Ms.   M&Ms are only the beginning of my problem though.  Chewy candy and I go way back.  I remember for my 15th birthday my friend gave me a balloon with like 3 pounds of chewy candy weighing it down.  I had an ex boyfriend challenge me to a Sour Patch eating contest.  We never had the competition, but let’s get real….I would have won.  I eat fairly healthy and if I cut out sugar I would lose weight and eliminate a trigger for myself but I just can’t.  I justify it by saying this…..I would love to sit down and have a drink at the end of a stressful day but it just makes me feel miserable at this point.  I don’t smoke, I don’t eat fast food, I don’t gamble and I don’t shop for myself.  How do I relax at the end of a day…I eat candy.   I’m triggered by soooooo many things and eliminating my one vice just isn’t a priority to me.  So what happens when I don’t have dessert and the next day I wake up with a migraine because of the weather change?  Forget that.  Give me my candy.  If that’s the worst thing I’ve done today, I’d say I’m doing pretty good.  All of this is not mentioning the cravings migraines give me.  My husband and I were sure I would be a craving lunatic when I was pregnant but I wasn’t.  I crave sugar pre migraine way more than any craving I’ve ever had.  So my cravings and my bad habit are all in the same.  Sugar!  I have tried to stop but it just gives me a headache.  Like I said, one day I’ll get there, but it’s not a battle I’m fighting right now.  What’s your bad habit or craving?  I can’t be the only one!

I’d like to say I’m going to quit. Any advice?  How do I stop something that is a pre and post migraine craving and comfort habit?  

How do I give up sugar and not feel the emotional roller coaster of cravings & emotional withdraw?

7 thoughts on “Cravings with Migraine and triggers. Chocolate, salty foods, sugar and more

  1. Pingback: Weekend Letdown | My Migraine Life

  2. Pingback: Yoga pants, being a mom and sporting my pretty (in Nina B Roze) | My Migraine Life

  3. Wow I could have written this. Sugar is my vice too. I know it will trigger migraine and have weaned myself off several times to come to a holiday or birthday saying I can I one piece and guess what.. yep

    Like

  4. Pingback: How to travel with a chronic illness | My Migraine Life

  5. Pingback: Migraine cravings: chocolate and salty foods | My Migraine Life

Leave a Reply

