The Excedrin Migraine Experience commercial

I have to say, I have not been happy with Excedrin Migraine commercials and advertising over the years.  I have not taken over the counter medication for my migraines in years.  Once I discovered it was giving me rebound headaches and causing my migraines to cycle, I stopped.  They never worked for the intensity of my migraines anyways, so it was not a problem to stop wasting my money.  I have been insulted by their, “shhhh mom has a migraine, not anymore now that I took an Excedrin Migraine” commercial.   It extends the stigma by saying I can pop one pill and my neurological disease will go away.

Things seem to have shifted in their advertising and understanding of migraine sufferers a bit more.  They have made a series of migraine experiences for a mother, a husband, a friend and a co worker.  This allows the person to experience the visual part of migraines a bit more.  Telling and seeing are different.  The experience cannot provide the pain that comes along with the visual disturbances but it does a good job of trying to break down some doubt in the “it’s just a headache” world.  I honestly would not want my loved ones to experience the pain that I have.  It would be ethically wrong to voluntarily torture someone.  The pain is an indescribable excruciating horror scene!   The focus of these commercials is on some of the other stuff that goes along with the pain. 

Overall, I have to say, bravo Excedrin Migraine.  You are moving in the right direction.  It’s more than just a headache.  It’s more than just a pill.  It’s my life.  It’s breaking down stigma, explaining and being judged by others, and suffering daily.  If you have a loved one, a spouse, a coworker, a friend or someone who may better understand by these commercials, please feel free to share it with them.

The Migraine Experience

2 thoughts on “The Excedrin Migraine Experience commercial

  1. Pingback: Getting to know My Migraine Life | My Migraine Life

  2. Pingback: My Migraine Life 2016 highlights | My Migraine Life

Leave a Reply

