Migraine is a neurological disease

Migraine is a neurological disease caused by genetics and a hypersensitive brain.

IMG_6688

Photo by Karen Eh, content by Teri Robert

This is an especially important fact for me.  My mom and grandmothers both suffered from Migraines.  I remember my grandpa being very sensitive to me suffering after he saw my grandma suffer on the couch with a wet cloth for so many years.

I  am a mom that worries daily about the fact and  possibility of passing it on to my sweet babies.  It was one of the first thoughts I had when I found out I was having a girl and knowing her chances would be higher.  I observe her constantly for signs of Migraine.  I make sure my children eat well, have a constant sleep schedules, show them stress relief techniques and more.  I try my best to teach them the importance of health but am fully aware that I can not change their genetics that I passed on.

The hypersensitive brain is something that makes me feel sane.  For many many years I felt crazy for the ailments I have.  I always thought it was an abundance of different things, the idea that I wasn’t truly sick or that everyone else felt that bad and it was normal.  Once I learned about the scope of migraine and that it is my brain being hypersensitive, I was able to understand myself.

When I get asked why all the treatments I have tried don’t work, the answer is clear…..I can’t change my genetic makeup.  I can try to control it, prevent it, treat it, and live with it.  I won’t be cured.  This is a fact that many need to understand.  I suffer and many generations suffer.  It’s genetics and a hypersensitive brain.

I am hypersensitive to light, sound, touch, smell, heat, cold, weather, stress, hormones,  and more.  I get triggered by things people would never notice.  Once I’m triggered my brain becomes more sensitive.  Once I have had a migraine, I am at a higher risk for another one since my sensitivity is heightened.  This often throws me into a cycle because of medication rebound and my hypersensitivity not calming down.  It is very complex and difficult to deal with.

The brain is a very tricky thing.  A migraine brain seems impossible!

Leave a Reply

