Living with pain haze, brain fog, mommy brain and Migraine

IMG_5495 (2)

Sometimes, things just look a bit hazy

 

Call it mommy brain. Call it pain haze. When I have a migraine I’m a bit fuzzy to say the least.

I got a migraine last weekend after the 4th of July (which was not a surprise, I get a migraine at every holiday) that lasted a few days and was severe. I spent the remainder of my week recovering. So when I woke up this morning with another migraine I was totally frustrated.

My husband had left for a trip before I woke up and I went directly into survival mode. I took my meds, iced and drank coffee before my kids got up. By the time they got up, I was able to put on a happy face and told myself I was going to make it through the day and to keep on fighting. I talk to myself and my migraines a lot!

So I decided to continue on with what I planned for the day and started addressing thank you notes that I had written for my daughter’s birthday. As I did this, I responded to a wedding invitation. The invitation already had a stamp on it and at this point I realized I had addressed my envelopes backwards. I had reversed the stamp and return address and would not have even noticed had I not seen an example of the correct way to address an envelope. Uh, how frustrating.

Was it the end of the world, of course not. It was just an honest mistake but it frustrated me. When I was on preventatives I made mistakes like this a lot. Now that I’m not, I try to keep my head as clear as possible but controlling the pain is a priority. I have many friends who do not suffer and tell me they are the same way.

It’s mommy brain, it’s being busy, it’s life. The problem with suffering is that I never know what’s normal. What is normal anyways? Knowing how to address an envelope is normal, so maybe I’m a bit hazy. I guess I could be called worse.

What have you done in a pain haze?

4 thoughts on “Living with pain haze, brain fog, mommy brain and Migraine

  1. Hi, I can so relate to this. Thank you for your excellent and frank writing. I find that sometimes I can carry on with my migraine – somehow putting it in a box to deal with later. Other times, like today, I can’t, and have to give in. Ugh. And all the while, I have number dyslexia – I am no longer sure whether this is the migraine brain or the ridiculous amount of preventative meds that have made me go soggy in the interests of trying to keep me pain free as much as poss. Happy days 🙂

    Like

  2. You’re definitely not alone! I know when I’m in a pain haze, a funk, or it’s just a bad fatigue day I do all sorts of weird things like this. One thing that’s a constant is my “goldfish brain.” I’m always asking him “what was I doing?” and he kindly and patiently reminds me even though I may ask him 3 different times in the span on 5 minutes. We just have to be kind to ourselves and know we can’t help it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

