Why it’s important to be connected to a self care movement and be a self care advocate

 IMG_7783.JPG img_7999

 

I was approached by SelfCareMovement to share why it’s important to be connected to a self care movement and be a self care advocate.

First, what is the self-care movement?
“The mission is to transform perspectives about chronic illness and the way we manage it, to celebrate the greatness in ordinary accomplishments that patients face every day.”
“When people think of chronic disease, they typically think about the medical aspects of managing and coping with it. The less palpable aspects of everyday life with a chronic illness are often left unspoken about.” (see spoon theory)
Secondly, why is it important to be part of this movement and advocate?
That answer is a bit more complicated and ongoing.  I guess the simple answer is, if I don’t take care and love myself, my health will dramatically fail.  And if mama’s not well, the family can’t be its best.  So I take care of myself for myself.  I also do it for my kids, my family, my friends and my coworkers.  But the bottom line is, self care is for me to be able to enjoy those people, be with those people and be there for them at my best.
This is why I think it is important to advocate for self care.  As a mom, wife, and all those other roles I play, I have put myself last.  Putting myself last ends up triggering me and making me sick.  So I have learned that by taking care of myself takes care of them.  I advocate to be an example and reminder to those who don’t put themselves at the top of the list.
I post pictures on Instagram that I hope inspire healthy living, mind, body and soul.
I tweet and retweet migraine and chronic illness information to spread awareness and knowledge
I blog about My Migraine Life to show my readers that life is full of suffering and growth which can turn into something beautiful.  I try to be positive in the dark times and lift those up who need it.  We all go through a rollercoaster in life and being a positive light as a migraine sufferer and mom hopefully brings hope and inspiration.  I find great inspiration from comments, shares, likes and support I get from sharing my stories.  Knowing that I’m helping is very rewarding!
“Self-care is about experiencing greatness in the ordinary and simple day-to-day activities that help people feel better despite the challenges of illness.”
— Grace Soyao, Founder & CEO, Self Care Catalysts
Some examples of what I do to feel better despite migraines are:
  • Working out.  Walking, hiking, yoga, elliptical, stretching
  • Drinking lots of water.
  • Eating well.
  • Quality sleep routine
  • Acting like a kid again.  Playing, listening to music, singing,  games, sports, art, reading, and being creative
  • Pampering myself. I love massages, Espom salt baths, saunas and mani/pedis
  • Snuggles.  Touch is a powerful thing.  Tiny arms can give big  love and furry friends can be therapy.
  • Strong relationships.  Weather it’s date night, girls night out, family dinner, coffee talk or a quick chat at the water cooler.  Having positive people that lift you up important for self care
  • Vacation. Long, short, near, or far.  Feeling like I have gotten away changes my mentality
How do you connect to the Self Care Movement?  How do you advocate for yourself with self care?  Your ideas may inspire someone to take better care of themselves
For more information on Self Care Movement go to:
Website
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
3 thoughts on “Why it’s important to be connected to a self care movement and be a self care advocate

  1. Great article, such an important message. It’s so important to take care of yourself, if you don’t then you can certainly not be at your best. I love doing Yoga, I need to make sure I allocate myself time each week to ensure I have time to do it. x

    Like

  2. So true. I truly believe that moms are the ones that change the world. And if moms put themselves behind how will they teach their children to put their needs first and stand up for themselves. It is important to put yourself first in order to serve others. It is not selfish but just self-love. Thanks for being a self-care advocate. I too write about self-care on my blog http://kaizenandtheartofmotherhood.com/self-care/ and I believe that it is the first step towards overcoming mommy overwhelm.

    Like

Leave a Reply

