Monday Munchies and Meals: Pumpkin Oatmeal

img_8221

This week I was sick! I mean, really Migraine sick! It lasted an entire week and fluctuated from a 6-10 on the pain level scale. For anyone who has not lived at a 6 (feeling good) for a week and spikes of mostly 8 and 9, it’s not only hard physically but mentally! No matter how much I slept, I’m still exhausted. I spent most of the week in my dark room, throwing up, missing work, missing the Indian’s game, time with family and time from my life. It was miserable!
When I’m in a cycle of pain in a Migraine cycle, I also cycle my eating. I go from eating and craving everything in sight to not eating at all or throwing up what I eat. This is a harsh cycle because I’m triggered by food that I eat yet crave it horribly when I’m sick. I get so nauseous that I allow myself to eat whatever tastes good. Then I either throw up or my migraine spikes without getting physically ill  which in turn makes me sicker. It’s a loose loose battle.
So when I woke up on Sunday morning, I prepared my Monday Meal, pumpkin oatmeal. What better way to ease myself into food than this nutritious and easy recipe? I liked the idea of starting my day out, motivated to finally defeat this cycle and get ready for a new week. I was excited to spend some quality quiet time with my babies and so were they.
We gathered the ingredients and it only took about 10 minutes to make! I wish I would have made a double batch so we could have had more the next day for breakfast also (school days I do quick breakfasts and keep it moving).
After we made the oatmeal with pumpkin, I laid out some toppings to give each child more ownership and incentive to eat what they just made. They chose walnuts, craisins, and maple syrup. I have to say, it was delicious!
So for those of you who are struggling this week, this one is for you. Remember that different foods trigger different people and only you know what ingredients are best. This is an easy meal or snack that only takes 10 minutes. 10 minutes is enough for this week. I’ll take what I can get and hope for a better week. So far so good……

img_8223

Here’s the recipe: Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal 

One thought on “Monday Munchies and Meals: Pumpkin Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

