Bright Snow Glare Triggers Migraine

Braving the blistery winter and snow glare

Braving the blistery winter and snow glare

bright sun and bright snow makes me want to hibernate

bright sun and bright snow makes me want to hibernate

I live in the snow belt of Cleveland.  We currently have mass amounts of snow.  It’s crazy cold out but oh well……I’m used to it.  So we hibernate.  But unlike those cozy, dozy bears, in a dark cave, I am forced to face the dreaded snow glare.  I have windows all over my house.  While they look beautiful, they torture me.  The windows frame a world of gleaming light reflecting bright white snow.  This week we ordered blinds for our windows because when I walk in our kitchen I feel like someone is stabbing me with an ice pick through my eyes extending out the back of my head.   I wear sunglasses in the house most of the time but it still doesn’t touch the nausea and aura the glare forces upon me.  When my children nap I am forced to retire to my room which has blackout shades and curtains over them to provide me the cave I require.

Leaving the house is obviously torturous.  I’m prepared, as always, with sunglasses and a big hood to block out peripheral light.  Driving escalates my pain instantly and without fail.  There’s nothing more I know to do.  I am not a bear and need to take my daughter to school, buy food for my family and do other humanly tasks.  It’s not realistic for me to hibernate.  I’m counting the days until I can make my castle a bit more cave like and for this snow to melt.  Cloudy days, at this point, are my friends and this is not a statement I make often.  It’s a difficult situation when it’s best to stay home yet my home and the snow’s glare make me sick.  This has been a very difficult winter, migraine wise, and this snow needs to go.  Snow, No!  You need to go.

Wondering what my favorite indoor and outdoor glasses are?

*Axon Optics is an affiliate and favorite product of mine.  If you click and purchase from this link you will give me credit for my recommendation.  And I highly recommend it!!!

8 thoughts on “Bright Snow Glare Triggers Migraine

  1. Wait, you live in Cleveland? ME TOO! 😀And totally yes with the snow glare…I was having migraines a year ago due to my brain tumor and it was definitely exacerbated by the snow glare. Even still, if it’s a sunny day in the winter, I stay in my room with the shades drawn.

    Like

  2. While the snow isn’t a problem here in CA, where I live there isn’t a lot of cloud cover so it is a bright, bright sun and the peripheral light can be a doozy. I find I have to wear sunglasses and a baseball cap to keep things in check. I haven’t thought about switching up my sunglasses once in a while and should consider it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

