Disney World. The bad

IMG_4147

Every good side has a bad side. I was happily surprised that I saw little bad while I visited Disney World.  The bad thing that I did see was ungrateful people.

My experience with meditation didn’t go well but something I find easy and beneficial to do every day is to show gratitude.  It comes easily being I have a disease that keeps me in a cold dark room and even the littlest bit of relief allows me to be grateful.

I also was a special education teacher for children with severe needs.   I can tell you that when you’ve worked with a child that is severely Autistic or is multiply handicapped you see the world in a different way.

So here’s the bad about Disney World….ungrateful adults.  I have always been able to work with difficult children because of the reminder that they don’t know any better.  I don’t give adults that benefit of the doubt.

As I was standing waiting for my family after a bathroom break (I told you we were hydrating!) I saw a most ungrateful man. He literally stopped in front of me and screamed at his daughter (or could have been his granddaughter, I couldn’t tell) about her band aid falling off her hand.

First of all, band aids fall off a moving hand.  Secondly, shame on him for yelling and embarrassing his daughter about such an insignificant thing.  As she hung her head I could feel the anger rise in me.

I texted my best friend and told her I considered tripping the man (hopefully scrapping his hand) and handing his daughter an extra band aid to put in her pocket.  I don’t go anywhere without band aids.  Kids fall and when they fall they need a band aid.  Even when there isn’t blood, sometimes a band aid just makes them feel better.

You know what doesn’t make them feel better, getting yelled at in a group of people.  How ungrateful!  He was worried about this tiny detail of his day and I am sitting there thinking of the Make a Wish family that had just walked by me.  I bet that family wasn’t worried about a band aid.  I bet their worries were real and powerful and that they would give anything to have their biggest problem be a band aid.  That family was smiling and laughing and  not worrying about such a small thing because they know BIG problems.  I wish that family could talk to that man and tell him about real anger.  Not anger at their child but anger at what they were suffering from.

Another time I saw the bad side of Disney was when we were on a ride. At one point the ride stopped and they made a statement about the ride stopping and that it would start again in a moment.  I heard a woman behind me groan and start loudly complaining about how she couldn’t believe it was ruining her ride.

It’s a funny thing about perspective.  My first thought wasn’t to complain it was to hope.  I sat there hoping that the boy I saw in a wheel chair with a feeding tube was being carefully wheeled onto the ride.  While this woman was complaining I was hoping that this sweet child would be able to experience the beauty and wonder of the ride that I was getting to enjoy.   While this woman was complaining with her working legs and loud mouth I would be interested to hear what that dad I saw pushing him would think.  I’m glad he couldn’t hear her and hope they got to enjoy!

Are these people bad people, of course not. I only heard and saw a small moment of their day.  No one is perfect and I ‘m sure they were dealing with their own issues.  Everyone has problems and everyone expresses them differently.  But from my perspective the bad thing about Disney is the ungrateful people.

I can’t go anywhere without negative people surrounding me and some days it bothers me more than others.  On a day that I felt OK and was literally looking to the sky being grateful for everything this world had provided me.  Then, I heard such nonsense of “band aid gate” and “let’s pause for a moment and complain.”

Let’s all show gratitude!

Part 3 of Disney World is coming.  You know it had to come…..the MIGRAINE!  This one has a great lesson.

5 thoughts on “Disney World. The bad

  1. Reblogged this on My Migraine Life and commented:

    I think it’s easy to take your health for granted. Remember that your health and the health of your children is precious! Don’t sweat the small stuff and enjoy life the best you can. You never know when things will change!

    Like

  2. Lessons such as this point out a reason why God allows us to experience trials (like migraines). We are sanctified as we learn to appreciate our blessings. His love for us doesn’t delight in the pain that we experience, but rather in what we learn through it as we trust Him.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Disney World tragedy and lessons I learned | My Migraine Life

Leave a Reply

