Monday Munchies and Meals: Pumpkin Muffins

img_7991

 

I love to cook!  I don’t always follow the directions, I use what I have, I avoid trigger ingredients and I go from there.  It has become part of my family’s lives.  My children love to measure, get out ingredients, mix, taste and see the results of their hard work.    And I love all the math, science,  reading, social, fine motor and even cultural lessons it provides.

Although cooking deliciousness is my goal, the process sometimes seems like  so much!  It’s a commitment to shop, prep, cook and clean up.  Often times it takes way longer than I’d like and uses way more energy than I have which is frustrating.

So I’ve decided to start a Monday Munchies and Meals series.  I hope to post a recipe each week in hopes of inspiring you to make something healthy and feel good about, being a  a snack or meal.  Why am I posting on Tuesday then?  Because life happens and I’ve been in bed with a killer migraine for the last 36 hours.  I wrote this post on Saturday after making  it last Monday and I couldn’t even open a computer to press “publish” for 2 days.

It isn’t always possible to cook everyday with having Migraines and living a busy life.  One recipe a week will be enough to share, make and encourage you to do the same.  So whether I post on Monday or Friday, you can make it whenever it fits your schedule and health also.  It’s meant to inspire, if you have an ok day, try it!  If you don’t, try again another day. 

If you like the recipe, please make it and share it with me.  I’d love to see your results and adaptions to Monday’s  munchie or meal of the week!!!  Post on facebook, twitter and Instagram and comment on the post to inspire others.

I do not follow a strict diet.  I avoid trigger foods but have not cut groups out of my life (gluten etc.).  I try to find recipes that are clean, real ingredients, that are anti-inflammatory and nutrient dense.  I am not a nutritionist and fully admit I eat way too much sugar.  I hope to share recipes that make me feel better and taste good.  If you have one you’d like me to try, please email me at mymigrainelife@gmail.com

This month I’m focusing on pumpkin.  Everyone loves pumpkin in the Fall and the benefits of it are great!

img_7992

 

Here’s the recipe I followed:

http://www.makingthymeforhealth.com/healthy-flourless-pumpkin-muffins/#_a5y_p=4349482

We ate these for breakfast, in lunches and as an after school snack.  Easy and great for grab and go.

Pumpkin Muffins

 

 

7 thoughts on “Monday Munchies and Meals: Pumpkin Muffins

  1. These look amazing!! I’m so sorry you have to endure migraines 😦 They are just horrible. My grandma, mum and myself all experience migraines (however mine aren’t quite as bad/frequent as what they used to be throughout my childhood luckily), so I will have to look around your site for tips on dealing with them!

    Like

  2. I’m enjoying exploring your site, a great new resource for me in all things migraine. The best thing about this recipe for me is the variations described in the instructions. Migraines are so weirdly individual: I love pumpkin, but cinnamon and chocolate are huge triggers for me, as are almonds. Not the best sensitivities to have this time of year! So I was about to give up on the recipe when I started reading and saw the author’s ideas about substitutions and why she uses certain things. Now I’m realizing that I can use coconut oil, raisins, regular milk… It won’t be the same recipe, but it will give me pumpkin, which I do love. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

